A sister for Amber, a brother for me.

My nephew and his girlfriend got engaged last night.  It was quite the celebration!  We all met at her parents’ house to meet then after they arrived home after the proposal dinner.  We had so much fun!  Candace’s mom and dad are so nice, they had champagne and sparkling apple juice for those of us who don’t imbibe.  I thought that was pretty thoughtful.  Her mom had cheesecake and Tony’s dad’s girlfriend brought some spinach dip and crackers.  It was great.  Amber was so excited… She just kept saying, “Now I have a sister, now I have a sister!”  Candace reminds me of Amber too, I’m sure they’ll become great friends.  Too bad they’re living in Missouri or Kansas or some other godforsaken place.  Tony is a guard at the military part of Ft. Leavenworth, so they don’t live here anymore.  Unfortunately, he’s supposed to be going to Cuba in a couple of months, so they’re trying to decide now if they should get married by a judge before he goes and have a big wedding later.  (Which is a little crazy if you ask me, but they didn’t… lol)

The biggest surprise of the whole evening though, my brother was here.  I was totally dumbfounded.  As a matter of fact, as bad as this sounds, I didn’t recognize him.  Even his voice has changed, but I haven’t seen him for 17 or 18 years.  As I write that, I realize what a really, really long time that is.  I talked to him occasionally, but I made him mad years ago, so we haven’t had much to say to each other since.  It was really good to see him again though.  Once I realized who he was, and got over the shock of the whole thing that is.  I was telling Steve the only person in my family I haven’t seen this weekend was my mom – a streak which we decided to let rest for now.  heh

This was the big weekend.  I turned the big 5-0 yesterday, but my wonderful mother-in-law had a party for me on Sunday.  Both my sisters were there, dad was there, AJ was there, and Candace brought the baby.  Steve’s sister and her husband and daughter were there too, so we had a grand party.  It was hotter than hades though, and – wouldn’t you know it,  mom and Bob’s a/c decided not to work when they turned it on for the first time this year.  No matter though, the breeze was great out on their deck and everybody had a good time anyway.  More about that later.  I’m still speechless from seeing my brother…

2 Comments

Filed under family

2 responses to “A sister for Amber, a brother for me.

  1. Meg

    Sounds like a lot of fun!

  2. Meg

    Oops…and happy belated birthday! LOL

Leave a Reply

