A small rant…

I was reading the obituaries tonight, as I usually do and I noticed that one obituary had listed survivors as sons and daughters, and then adopted sons and daughters.  My first thought was that they were maybe kids who had been close to the family, as my friend’s mom “adopted” me when I was younger, but these kids had the same last name; so I think they were really adopted kids.  Why would you do segregate them like that?  That bugs me.  So does stepdaughter and stepson, and step-grandchildren.  My thought is if you marry someone their kids becomes your kids, whether you adopt them or not.  Also, if you adopt a child and he/she has your last name why bother to differentiate betwen the biological children and the adopted children.  Seems like a snub of some sort to me.  Ah well…

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General

Leave a Reply

