Central Auditory Processing Disorder (Syndrome) aka I’m a bad mom

Went with Meg to Boystown Institute the other day for her audiology examination.  Ouch.  That was an eye opener.  After her hearing tested out normal we went to see the ENT doctor who says her hearing is a little on the low normal size and should be followed up in 6 months to a year, but nothing too significant.  Hearing aids may help, but they may not, he can’t say for sure.  Then Meg went on to explain to him how much trouble she has hearing in situations where there are more than a couple of people, or at parties, malls, large open spaces, etc.  Hmmmm.  Now that seemed to pique his interest.  After a few more questions he concluded that she probably has Central Auditory Processing Disorder (CAPD).  Sort of like dyslexia, but it involves her auditory nerve instead of her optic nerve.  The ears are working, the auditory nerve is working, but the brain is scrambling the message it hears.  Oh.  I hadn’t ever heard of it before, but when I came home and did some research, I was floored.  These articles could have been written about Meg when she was a child.  How did I miss this?  I had her hearing tested and it was “fine”.  In fourth grade Steve and her teacher almost duked it out at parent-teacher conference because the teacher told him Meghan was just goofing off.  This was the first year she had been in a “pod” with 3 other 4th grade classes, divided only by room dividers.  The noise and confusion must have been exhausting for her, yet we didn’t investigate further why she was having so much trouble.  I just listened to the teacher and principal when they told me she didn’t belong in the one 4th grade classroom that was apart from the rest.  (Well, actually I went to visit that classroom and she didn’t belong there, the children were quite a bit behind Meg developmentally.)  But still.  I should have done something

I remember the day we were driving home from school and she told me she had learned a new word in school – this is kind of the way the conversation went:

Meg:  Hey, I learned a new word in school today.

Me:  Cool…  What was it?

Meg:  Reardevere.

Me: (Puzzled, prolonged silence).

 Meg: Did you hear me?

Me:  Yeah..   There’s no such word, Meg.

Meg: Yes there IS!

Me:  No, honey, I don’t think there is.  (In the meantime, I’m trying to remember 3rd grade vocabulary and how they could teach her a word I don’t know.  Not that I know everything, but really, third grade?)

Meg:  It’s reardevere. 

Me: (Because sometimes Meg got a little confused)  Do you mean rear view mirror?

Meg: (Getting a little huffy by this point.)  I do NOT mean rear view mirror.  The word was reardevere!

Me:  What does it mean? (Okay, so maybe I don’t know everything.)

Meg:  It’s another word for your hiney!

Me: (The light bulb comes on)  Oh!  Do you mean derriere?

Meg:  That’s what I SAID!

Now this didn’t happen constantly, but it did happen often enough that maybe I should have taken notice that something wasn’t right.  But did I?  Oh no…. So now, when she’s 26 years old, she finds out something that probably would have made her life a lot easier if it had been addressed when she was younger.  Oh hell. 

I’m never going to be mother of the year. 

4 Comments

Filed under Life in General

4 responses to “Central Auditory Processing Disorder (Syndrome) aka I’m a bad mom

  1. You are not a bad mother! If we could all live our life again, don’t you think we would all do things differently? If we all had that 20/20 hindsight, don’t you think we would change things? You can’t hold yourself up to a standard that is unfair like that. Yes you missed it, but it was not your fault.

    If I could go back in time, I would do a lot over. Including full bedrest for my entire first pregnancy. Perhaps then my daughter wouldn’t have been born 3 months early. Or perhaps I wouldn’t roll down a hill with her five years later resulting in my breaking her leg.

    Or maybe my mom wouldn’t send me off riding my bike the day I broke my hip. Which would make it so I wouldn’t need surgery now. Does that mean she was a bad mom because she missed clues? You are a good mom, you care about your daughter and you did the best you could with what you were given. I think my mom put it best when she told me, allow yourself a minuite to cry, then pick yourself up again and go do what you can to help your daughter’s current situation.

    Sorry for the rant, you just brought out some thoughts that I had burried for quite a while…

  2. Typing Fool is not a bad mother…rinse and repeat!

    My Mom has said some of the same things now that I am adult, regarding my dyslexia. I turned out fine. I knew I was not stupid all thru school, but some teachers insisted I was. Finally in 7th grade I put my foot down and demaned not to be put into special-ed, because I knew I was not stupid. Eventually, I learned how to deal with it and did fine in school.

    As for pod learing…the worst idea ever. My school was like that as well. I’m amazed I learned anything in primary school.

  3. This topic is quite trendy in the net right now. What do you pay the most attention to while choosing what to write ?

Leave a Reply

