Good News

My youngest nephew’s girlfriend is in the hospital giving birth tonight to their son.  How cool.  I’m a great aunt on MY family’s side for the first time.  I’m totally jazzed.  It’ll be cool to have a baby in the family again.  She went to the hospital earlier today, but wasn’t dilating, so they sent her home.  She went back again about 10 p.m. I guess, and was dilated to a little over a 3, so they kept her.  Last I heard she was a 5 and things were progressing nicely.  Woo hoo. 

Although I’m thrilled about a new family member, it just hit me (I mean I knew it, but it just hit me) that my dad is going to be a great-grandpa.  Wow.  We’re so lucky to still have him as healthy as he is.  My grandpa only got to be a great-grandfather once, and only for 2 months before he died, but he had had a heart attack years before.  My dad, on the other hand, is relatively healthy.  He has diabetes, but it’s controlled with diet and he has some hypertension, but that’s pretty well controlled too.  The only thing that worries me is that he has vertigo so bad.  I’m afraid he’s going to fall and break something.  All in all, he’s in pretty good shape for a guy who’s going to be 75 this fall.  He’s still working as a security guard.  I nice, sedentary laid back job where he didn’t have to chase shoplifters would be nice, but I don’t think he could handle that.  He fills in at least one night a week for a much younger (but also much lazier) guy.  I still remember telling a friend of mine when I was (obviously) just a kid, “My dad is 31 – he OLDER than your dad!”  Holy smokes, I’d like to see 31 again!  LOL! 

Anyway, I’m hoping the baby (who we know is a boy) is here by morning.  I can’t wait to see him! 

Leave a comment

Filed under family

Leave a Reply

