A light at the end of the tunnel – oh hell, it’s a train…

Has it only been 11 days since I posted?  Hmm.   Hang on, it’s been a loooooong 11 days. 

First, the fur kids.  Just got Heidi’s teeth cleaned and it WAS less expensive than Jojo – only $310!  Which was good. 

Then, last Monday, I felt like crapola most of the day and stayed in bed.  I’m learning how this no energy thing works.  I had all the dogs in bed with me (Get BACK you non-dog people, my dogs are always in bed with me.)  About 4 or so I figured we must eat dinner so I took off to the store for a package of noodles.  Well, okay, a snuck in a little side trip to the scrapbook store to look for some page protectors, but I wasn’t gone more than an hour.  I called home to tell Steve to put the water on to boil.  No answer.  I called the daughter’s cell to see if she was home yet.  Oh yes.  She was home.  Had just arrived as a matter of fact, to a literal blood bath.  Seems Ben and Jojo had had a disagreement of some type and the fur literally flew.  Somehow in all the ruckus the baby gate had also gotten knocked down (I’m just grateful I don’t have Great Danes) and there was blood in the kitchen, in the hallway, in the living room (both of them) not to mention the little room where the dogs had been.  Blood about 3 feet up the walls and all over my gray carpeting in the hallway.  DD was hysterical, Jojo wasn’t moving, but lying pretty lifeless on the now blood-soaked 40 dollar dog bed that I just bought 2 weeks ago.  I had her grab him and called the vet, where we met about 10 minutes later.  Jojo was in sad shape, I mean SAD shape, in deep shock.  His temp was only 93 (normal is 101) and his coat (he’s a longhair dachshie) was totally matted in blood from the tip of his nose to the end of his tail.  I really thought he was a goner.  Which would have meant, much as I hate to say it, that Ben also would have been a goner.  Fortunately, after 4 days at the vet (let’s not talk about that bill) he’s home again and doing much better.  Luckily, he didn’t need a transfusion, just lots of fluids, antibiotics and painkillers. 

What about Ben, you ask?  Ben was blood soaked himself and received a nasty cut on the ear which bled like  a stuck pig, but that’s all.  Of course I was hysterical – we can’t keep both dogs if they’re going to fight like that.  They’ve both been neutered, Ruger is a male too, and he was only minimally involved (he had a scratch inside his ear and where that came from is anybody’s guess) – was it a domination thing?  Who started it?  Jojo is quite a bit smaller than Ben, so even if Ben didn’t start it, he could very easily be the winner… I called the rescue where we got them, unfortunately they’re in Missouri and were totally iced in for the 3rd week in a row, but she was willing to take Ben back.  I advertised him on the want ads, noting that of course he was aggressive (thanks bitchsister) – which of course yielded a big fat nothing in terms of calls. 

I went out and bought a muzzle as a last resort, but haven’t had to use it.  Ben has been fine, a perfect angel, with the other dogs.  Since Jojo has come home he’s been very, very sore, so he’s very surly and staying away from the other dogs as much as he can.  He only wants to be on my lap.  Ben only wants to be on the other side of my lap, (luckily I’m fat so I have a large lap) but no snarls, growls, or nips.  Nada, zip, zilch.  What the heck happened last Monday?  Ben has been playing with the other dogs – actually racing around, rolling around on the rug with them, being a perfect gentleman.  I don’t think Ben will be going back.  I’m going to take this one day at a time.  I just love them both. 

Then, the son, my darling baby boy…. GRRRRRR.  He got a ticket for procuring alcohol for a minor a couple months ago.  I wish I could get him to stay out of trouble, but as much as I’d like to… Hey, he’s 23, I’ve done what I could do, the rest is up to him.  Anyway, he went to court, they postponed because he didn’t have an attorney, his attorney made a plea bargain (just for the record, I don’t believe in plea bargains, but what the hey… I’m not in charge here.) So he has house arrest for 48 hours beginning this Thursday.  He and his roommates don’t have a landline, neither does his dad and it’s kind of required when you can’t even go out to get your mail.  So he’s going to do it here.  This should be interesting.  Forty-eight nonstop hours of him being in the house.  That hasn’t happened since he was about… Um, three?  Ah, but the good thing?  He can’t leave, so he HAS to listen to me.  Bwa ha ha… On the really down side he and his girlfriend broke up.  She was really nice too… Oh well. 

Then DD wakes me up this morning about 1:30 wanting one of my pain pills.  She has a toothache.  This toothache has been an issue since before Christmas when grandma told her to go to the dentist and grandma would pay for it.  DD has been too busy to go.  Her words not mine.  Last night the tooth reared it’s ugly head and how.  She had already gone to the store for OraJel, which didn’t work, so she wanted something stronger.  She finally went to the dentist today.  She doesn’t have a cavity.  She has a sinus infection.  A really, really bad sinus infection, according to the x-rays.  Well, she does have a cavity, but no where near where the pain is.  Now she’s on antibiotics and pain pills of her own.  Then tonight the pain gets totally out of control.  Luckily we have some good friends whose husband is a doctor and LDS to boot.  So she got a blessing and took some more pain medicine.  She’s now peacefully zonked on the sofa snoring like a freight train.  Hopefully, this will pass soon.  But that brought up the whole issue of having to go somewhere else to receive a priesthood blessing.  That’s a sore spot with me.  So I won’t be talking about THAT!

Well, I guess that’s it for now.  I seriously have to get some work done tonight and I’ve been procrastinating as much as I can.   I’m sure other things less noteworthy have happened this week, but really, who cares about that? LOL

3 Comments

Filed under family, Fur kids, Life in General

3 responses to “A light at the end of the tunnel – oh hell, it’s a train…

  1. Well, sounds like things have really been interesting at your house this week. Sorry about your doxie….these are my favorite dogs in the world. I hope he is feeling better soon. As for the toothaches/sinuses…they are linked, everything in your head is. I can always tell when I’m going to get an ear infection from how my teeth feel.

  2. I am sorry to hear about the fight! That is never fun. Have you tried keeping the two of them in seperate rooms when you aren’t home? Just a thought…

    Good luck with your son. Sounds like you will have an eventful few days ahead!

  3. Great blog, good job getting it all together 🙂

Leave a Reply

