Being on call sucks and other thoughts from the weekend

I’m on call this weekend for the first time since starting to work for the hospital.  From midnight on Friday until midnight on Sunday.  Which, for the normal person would probably not be a problem.  However, I don’t sleep.  I think I’ve mentioned this about 10,000 times, but I have to have Ambien to sleep.  I’ve been up since 4:30 Friday afternoon.  I’m so tired I can’t see straight.  I’ve taken a couple breaks because I felt tired.  However when I take the opportunity to go downstairs, thaw out by the woodstove, and catch a nap, I sleep for all of about 20 minutes.  Eh.  I’m planning on taking an Ambien tonight and to heck with it.  Of course it’s slippery outside, snowing/sleeing, whatever,  which means there will probably be a car accident or two after the bars close and the hospital calling needing an H&P because the patient is going into surgery.  I’ve told Steve he’ll have to get up with me to make sure I don’d nod off at the keyboard.  And only the HIPPA regulations are keeping me from letting him read anything I may type to make sure it makes sense. 

Cold. Too freaking cold.  I know, it’s Nebraska in January, but what a cruel joke to play when it’s been so nice and warm all season.  If we have to have cold can’t we at least have snow?  A lot of snow.  Enough to close down work for everybody through Tuesday at least.  Not gonna happen.  Seems the Weather Channel was right after all.  Grrrrr…   Although it isn’t really a surprise.  (Note to self, move to Denver before next winter.) 

Anyway, I’m sitting here with a blanket over my lap and my space heater on, and Steve’s Leinenkugal cap on my head to keep the heat in (hey, it could work).  But my fingers and toes are still numb.  I’m going to give up and go to bed.  Being on call sucks.

3 Comments

Filed under Work junk

3 responses to “Being on call sucks and other thoughts from the weekend

  1. Ambien works for you? You are so lucky. I got a rx. after my surgery and it did NOTHING for me. NOTHING. I should have just taken a Benadryl, instead. 🙂

  2. I went running this morning in zero degree weather. I still have yet to warm up.

  3. Abel, you’re nuts. LOL I’m sorry, but that’s just N-U-T-S, nuts.

Leave a Reply

