14 days and counting

The Primary kids sang in Sacrament meeting yesterday, they’re so darn cute, I just love them all.  It’s funny when I started in the Primary I was convinced I wasn’t going to like it, but I’ve really come to love those kids, they’re so cute – and the older kids are funny!  I’m going to miss the older ones as they go on to Young Men and Young Women this year.  Chantal is leaving this year, and Sonja (our President and Pianist) and a family that’s relatively new in the ward are looking to move on already, so before too long we’ll be short 9 kids.  Our primary is so large now we’re actually going to start having a junior and senior primary – a far cry from the 10 kids we had last year!  I don’t know what we’re going to do when Chan leaves.  I know I don’t want to be president, but then again I never wanted to be in Primary to begin with, so who knows what will happen.  I can’t imagine whoever comes in is going to be as organized as Chan is, she’s remarkable!

I had to wash the tree skirt the other day.  It’s just too tempting for Charlie and Ruger, I’m afraid.  The wrapped presents are in front of the fireplace – off the floor.  I’m not rewrapping any presents this year.  That’s just gross.  Who wants a dog-pee soaked present anyway?  I’m so paranoid though, I live in fear that someone can see the presents from outside and is going to break into the house to get them.  Like putting them under the tree would make a difference. 

Speaking of Charlie Brown, I think he’s looking pretty bad.  I have to wonder if we’re doing the right thing, pumping him up with steroids, and anti-rejection drugs, and antibiotics.  His eyes are looking kind of droopy and red.  Steve said he noticed pus in them the other day, so we’ve been using his antibiotic ointment in them again too.  The problem is he’s so darn happy all the time – well, when he’s awake that is.  Which isn’t really much, only about 3 hours in the evening.  He mostly just wakes up to eat and go outside, and then he wants to be held at night.  He smells so bad too.  I’m sure it’s the infection under the skin, he just reeks.  But we just love him to death.  I don’t want to put him to sleep, but he’s not going to get any better.  I’m so torn about what to do with/for him.  I know in my heart we’ve given him a great home for the past 15 months, not bad for a dog that was only supposed to live 6 weeks when we got him.  If he still enjoys life I don’t want to end it, but I can’t imagine he feels good.  I hate making decisions like this.  Maybe after the first of the year I’ll take him to the vet yet again and see what he thinks.

I didn’t mean to end on such a gloomy note, but break is over and I have to get back to work.  There’s still 7 consults and 5 H&Ps before I even begin on the op reports from yesterday.  

2 Comments

Filed under Church Stuff, family, Fur kids

2 responses to “14 days and counting

  1. Bitchsister

    I guess you know what the right thing is for Charlie, you’re just hesitant to do it. You have to think “quality” of life and not “quantity”. If he is only awake for three hours a day, that’s not much “quality”. I think he is a sweet, albeit smelly” dog, but I think his time may have come. I know how hard it is since I was there with you when you had to put Schnapps to sleep. I would be devastated to have to put one of my three angels down (maybe not Zoey if she keeps peeing on my throw rugs right after I wash them!).

    Hang in there, sister. You know where I am if you need me! 🙂

  2. I’m sorry. That is such a hard decision to make. Pets make our lives so blazing wonderful (better than most humans!).

Leave a Reply

