This ‘n that

Hey, I’m loving this job!  I had some overtime last week and actually made more money than DH… Woo hoo!  Not that I have much left, but I’m actually getting bills paid and having money to buy Christmas presents too.  This is a feeling I could get used to.  I’m not so sure my back is in agreement with me, but what the heck…

 I worked 6 p.m. to 2:30 a.m. the past 2 days because the regular 3-11 person was off.  I hate these hours.  I don’t like having my entire evening wasted (!) on working.  I love the 10 to 6:30 a.m., I’ll be glad to get back to it for the next 2 days. I have to work at 6 again on Friday – sucks to be me.  Oh well, it’s not permanent.

 I went to the Girl Scout office today and taped Meg making a presentation – she was really good!  Not that I’m surprised, that girl can TALK, that’s never been an issue, but she’s so smart!  Good job!  She had a heck of a time getting the presentation off our camcorder onto the computer though.  The camcorder isn’t digital.  We’ve had it for about 8 or 9 years, which is hard to believe.  May have to invest in a newer one this spring.  We haven’t really been using it, but I think mainly it’s because it’s so big and bulky, plus the fact you can’t download stuff, so it’s kind of useless.   First I want a laptop, then I’ll work on other stuff.

Actually, first I want a new carpet cleaner.  The one we have spews stink all over when you use it.  Ick.  It’s almost worse than not using it at all!  blech  Speaking of dogs (yes, that’s where the stink comes from) Ruger had a bout of colitis last week.  “Garbage Gut” as the vet calls it.  He got into some garbage on Thanksgiving night.  Had his own little feast he did, but we all paid for it for the next couple of days.  I was giving him Imodium and hoping it would clear up, but when he got blood in his stool it was time to go see the vet.  *sigh*  Poor baby had to have a shot and he’s been on antibiotics all week, but he’s doing much better.  Thanks goodness. 

I have to get out to the Trail Center to see the gingerbread houses.  We haven’t been yet.  Usually we go Thanksgiving night, but you heard about that fiasco!  Since the whole evening turned into a giant mess, we never went.  Maybe tomorrow night, if Steve doesn’t have plans. 

I think my whole internal clock has gone wacko.  I’m sitting here now at 4 o’clock and I’m not the least bit tired.  But at 5 p.m. I can’t keep my eyes open.  That’s after 8 hours of sleep!  I can’t figure out what makes me tick.  I’ve thought about not taking the Ambient to see if I can fall into a natural sleep pattern, but the last time I did that I didn’t sleep for 2 days and was practically hallucinating by the time I caved and took a couple.  Tonight I fell asleep watching the news at about 5.  I figured Meg and Steve were both here and someone would surely make sure I was awake at 6 to go to work.  Oh hell no.  Of course I was on-call from 6 to midnight in case the hospital needed anything.  I’ve been on call probably 10 times since I started working and the hospital has NEVER called.  Tonight I fall asleep and wake up at 6:15 and the hospital had called twice! Oh man.  It turned out all right though, the other girl who was still working at that time had the report they needed.  Isn’t that funny how that works?  Do one thing wrong one time and that’s the time somebody will catch you! 

Well, I’m going to go find my ‘pod and watch last week’s episode of Grey’s.  I heard on their podcast that they’re showing reruns the whole month of December.  Well, Merry Christmas to you too!  What am I gonna do?  Hopefully, Jericho won’t be reruns yet… That’s the only show that I watch (GA) with any regularity.  Supposedly there’s supposed to be some really good stuff coming up, but not until January.  I can’t wait. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life in General, News and Stuff

Leave a Reply

