Grrrrrr…

Anybody who knows me knows I usually don’t just sit back and relax when I’m annoyed with someone – and I’m really annoyed with my sister-in-law and my mother-in-law at the moment.  Thanksgiving was good, I’m glad it turned out the way it did, but my SIL and I share swapping Thanksgiving and Christmas every year and this was our Thanksgiving year.  Everything was fine and dandy until her kids had to work on Thanksgiving Day and suddenly we had to have dinner at 1 o’clock.  We don’t usually eat until about 4 or so and I didn’t want to eat early.  Whoever hosts the occasionally has always chosen the dinner time, so I didn’t see any reason to change it.  I can’t tell you how many times my kids had to eat leftoevers from holiday dinners because they were working or Matt was at his dad’s or whatever.  I figured the girls could have leftovers when they got here after work.  Apparently that wasn’t good enough.  They called on Sunday to say they were having dinner at 1 and did we want to eat with them?  Quite frankly, no.  I didn’t want to eat at 1 o’clock.  Get it?  So when I mentioned it to mom, she just said they were going to Sue’s for dinner.  So of course Mike and Amy went to Sue’s (well, Mike is her son and all…)  But, the more I thought about it, the madder I got.  What’s the deal?  Her kids can’t eat leftovers?  They have to have dinner with their kids?  Fine, I’ve felt that way about my kids more than once, but for the sake of family peace I give in.  So mom and Bob came over for dessert about 6 o’clock that night and I must admit I was a little bit ticked off, but not bad.  But the more I thought about it, the madder I got.  The dinners are usually pot luck, dad brought the salad this time, but I made all the rest, so it kind of stuck me with a whole dinner when I hadn’t been planning on that, but the kid thing really sticks in my craw, more than a little bit. 

When we bought our first house, we borrowed money from mom – and paid her back with interest before the first year was up.  When we just got our wood floor in the living room mom cashed in the bonds she’s had for Steve for more than 30 years, and he’s paying her back because he felt that was her money, she paid for the bonds.  That’s just the way he is, I have to give him credit, he’s no freeloader that’s for sure.  Which is something that can’t be said for his sister.  Yet, when it comes to family things, her family is always the #1 priority.  Always.  And I’m quite sick of the whole damn thing. 

Which leads me to today.  Steve calls from work and tells me she’s invited us over for dinner.  Hmmmm.  Did he tell her no?  Of course not, he told her that would be nice.  Well, I’m still pissed.  I think I’ll be pissed until at least Christmas so we don’t have to go over to his sister’s smelly, smoke infested house that’s so crowded with crap that you can’t turn around.  Maybe we should start spending holidays with our OWN families.  Then no one has to eat leftovers.  (hahaha)   So we went over for dinner.  I’m cordial, but not friendly.  I really want to tell her how I feel.  My feelings are hurt, Steve’s feelings are hurt (and they are, we talked about it the other night), and I’m just upset that we were rather unceremoniously dumped for Thanksgiving.  I know Steve would say I shouldn’t, and maybe he’s right, but until I tell her how I really feel, I think this is going to just hang between us and we’ve always had a good relationship – up until now.  Oh hell. 

Leave a comment

Filed under family

Leave a Reply

