Another Saturday night and I ain’t got nobody…

…dictating that is.  Tonight is my last night working for this company and there’s no work.  I can’t stand this.  Grrrr.  Well, now I have that stupid song stuck in my head.  Who sings that anyway?  Renee, I know you’ll know. 

Speaking of old songs, we had company from New Zealand the other night and he was telling us how this airline employee took his Vegamite because she had never heard of it.  Steve said he hadn’t ever heard of it either.  How could you live through the 70s and not have heard Men at Work singing about their Vegamite sandwich?  I can’t remember the name of the song though.  Anyway, this guy (Peter was his name) was apparently pretty interesting.  He’s also a ham radio operator so they spent quite a bit of time playing on the radio.  Then they watched Wallace and Grommit.  Sounds like a productive evening, no? 

I went to Carol’s wake last night.  That was… interesting.  I’ve never been inside that church, or been to a wake for a black person.  I guess I’ve led a sheltered life.  What I thought was kind of odd was that Mike left about half way through.  Why would you leave your wife’s visitation half way through?  Gotta wonder. 

Matt and his roomies finally found a house to rent.  He’s pretty glad to be getting out of his dad’s house.  Ha!  I was pretty glad when I got out of his dad’s house too!  🙂  Little divorce humor there…

Mom’s birthday was Thursday, so she’s having everyone over tomorrow.  At 2.  So I can miss church.  I think it’s a plot to keep me out of church but I can’t prove it.  Every time we have a family thing it’s at 2 or 3 o’clock and everyone knows full well I go to church at 3.  If I had a family breakfast at 10 nobody would be there because they’d miss church, but they think nothing of expecting me to miss my church.  Only 2 more months until the time changes.  Of course that won’t be any better, I think it’s going to be 9 a.m.  Ugh, I can’t get up that early. 

What I started to say was, I baked mom’s cake today.  It’s kind of nice, but it’s still not as good as a bakery cake.  I’m getting there, but not as fast as I’d like.  Of course to do that I’d be baking several cakes a day, and then I’d have to eat some and then… Well, it wouldn’t be pretty.  It may take a while, but I’ll get better.  Her cake is lemon with buttercream icing, orange trim (for lack of a better word) and red, yellow, and orange leaves cut out of fondant along the sides of the cake.  On top I have a maple leaf and an acorn.  Very fallish, don’t you think? 

I’m still waiting for my refund check from Mary Kay for my returned inventory.  I finally thought about checking the UPS tracking today and they received it on the 10th.  Come ON people.  I’m thinking maybe there’s a backlog of returned merchandise because of MKS?   Maybe they’re just slow, but I’d like to get it before the year is over!

ShopKo had the Grey’s Anatomy second season on DVD on sale for 43 bucks this week.  I feel pretty good that I had found it on Amazon.com for 26 and some change, plus shipping.  (Patting myself on the back.)  Bring on the DVD! 

 Speaking of movies, I watched “Hell in High Heels, the Mary Kay Story” the other night.  We rented it from Netflix.  OMG!  How hysterically funny!  I think Shirley MacLaine is a nut case, but she’s a terrific actress.  If the real Mary Kay was 1/10th as big of a bitch as Shirley portrayed her…. Mmmm mmm mmm.  That woman had some serious issues.  I can’t believe how many people just literally idolize her.  It’s frightening.  Did I mention already that I’m waiting for Kool-Aid to be passed out at rally meetings?  Scary the way they can manipulate people.  And then you have all the Kaybots over on MKS telling us we just didn’t “work the business” right, and we’re bitter.  Hell no, honey, I feel like someone who escaped from Jim Jones! 

Ah ha!  There’s work!  Later….

2 Comments

Filed under Life in General

2 responses to “Another Saturday night and I ain’t got nobody…

  1. A – Men at Work was 80s, woman! The song in question is “Down Under” … “I said ‘do you speaka my language?’ he just smiled and gave me a vegamite sandwich.” That was off their 1982 album “Business as Usual” and the second hit after “Who can it be now?”

    B- “Another Saturday Night” has been sung by several but the one most recognized is by Cat Stevens. I’m not sure who did the original. I love Cat Stevens. Did you see the movie Harold and Maude?

  2. Thank you! I was looking for the lyrics when I found kissthisguy. I never got any further than that. LOL

Leave a Reply

