Good news/bad news

I called my sister today.  Yes, the one I haven’t spoken to in over a year.  I feel as though a huge weight has been lifted off my shoulders.  As pissed as I was, and I was very pissed, you just don’t stop loving someone.  Even though you’d like to.  We even discussed the only stumbling block that I see to keep us on track, but maybe that won’t be a stumbling block after all. 

I found out from talking to her today that the wife of a good friend is dying of cancer.  She had a double mastectomy several years ago and it had metastasized to her brain and lungs.  You know, I can gripe and complain all I want about how bad I feel, but at least I feel.  And even though I know I’m not going to recover from any of this stupid back, neck, shoulder pain, it’s not terminal.  No matter how bad your life is, there is always someone who has it worse.  I guess the old adage that everything comes in 3s is true.  That’s 3 people I know that have been diagnosed with cancer within the past few months.  It’s really not fun to get old and watch things like this happen to people your own age.  And I’m realy NOT that OLD!

Leave a comment

Filed under family, Friends

Leave a Reply

