Have I mentioned lately that I hate my freaking job?

In case I haven’t, medical transcription sucks.  I’m sitting here pounding my already arthritic fingers to the bone with trying to listen to these people who makes a hell of a lot more money than me and can’t think for a hill of beans.   Every single report I’ve typed today (9 so far) has been coded in as the wrong type of report, so the wrong template will come up if I don’t change it.  A couple of times they don’t even tell me what it is they’re dictating, I have to figure out what it is by what they’re saying.  Now I’ve got a dictation over 10 minutes long by an Asian doctor (so she has an accent), dictating on her cell phone (so there’s static and it keeps fading in and out) and there’s (probably) a kid banging away doing piano practice in the background.   Did I mention I only make about 9-1/2 cents a line for this?  Most days I only do a maximum of 1000 lines – good days, with good dictators.  Do the math.  I’m not going to get rich doing this.  Or get new living room drapes either.  lol  (I have to laugh or I’ll cry.)  Back to work…

Leave a comment

Filed under Work junk

Leave a Reply

