Seriously, the other side of the coin.

Now that I’ve had my say about my furbaby, I need to address something even more serious.  I have a blogging friend, Erin, who has lost two children to congenital heart defects (CHD).  I cannot even fathom how this woman manages to function on a day to day basis, but by God, she does.  She has become quite the advocate for CHD and is going to participate in a local heartwalk in the Charlotte, North Carolina, area in September.  Her goal is to raise $3,000 for CHD awareness and she’s doing pretty darn good, if I do say so myself.  However, the deadline is coming and she has a ways to go.  I’d really love it if you could take a few minutes and check out her blog, and if her story touches you as much as it did me, please make a donation to her.  She also has some cool raffles at her site.  One is for some really neat yard, another for a photography certificate with what looks like a really neat photographer, you can purchase an ad to sponsor her team, buy a t-shirt from Cafe Press, and she has a raffle for a really neat quilt.  I know some of my readers have children, but even if you don’t the things this great lady and her family have gone through in the past 5 years or so is enough to make you want to sit down and cry yourself.  Just take a second, please, and read what she has to say. 

You can also make a donation at http://heartwalk.kintera.org/charlottenc/novasheart.  This should take you directly to her team page. 

I just feel so blessed that none of the children in my family have ever had any major illnesses or life-threatening defects, that I felt I had to pass this along.  BTW, I did get a t-shirt and I’m really eyeing the quilt…

1 Comment

Filed under Blogroll

One response to “Seriously, the other side of the coin.

  1. Thank you for making this post. This is so important to me, and some days, doing this is what keeps me going. All the links and support remind me that my babies are still touching people and making a difference.

Leave a Reply

