Am I just plain odd or what?

I read a couple blogs more on less on a regular basis, but there’s one that has really touched my heart.  Erika and Jay live in near Boston and have a son who was born with HLHS.  I can’t even remember how I found her blog, but as soon as I started reading it I was hooked.  She was pregnant and knew the baby had this heart problem and…. Well, I don’t know.  I guess I was just nosy and wanted to see how everything turned out.  Then, someone in our stake had a baby born with HLHS, but they didnt’ know it, and the baby died, so that made me want to keep up with Erika’s blog all the more, just to make sure everything was okay. 

 The baby was born in February and just had his second open heart surgery today.  I was so worried.  I felt like an idiot.  I mean, I don’t even know these people.  I’ll probably never meet these people, yet I was so worried about this little guy that I was praying like mad that everything would go okay for him.  Luckily it did and I just read the last post before getting ready for bed.  He’s still on a ventilator, but doing okay.  I was just so relieved I about cried. Isn’t that just kind of odd that you could really be that interested in what happens in someone else’s life? 

Maybe it’s because we’ve really been blessed in our family.  My niece had meningitis and was hospitalized when she was a baby, but that’s the worst thing that has happened in our family of 4 children and 7 grandchildren.  I think that’s amazing.  We’re truly blessed.  I guess it just bothers me to know that there are others who aren’t so lucky.  I like to cheer when things go right for someone.  Okay that’s enough mushy stuff, but I am so glad he came through the surgery all right. 

1 Comment

Filed under Blogroll, family

One response to “Am I just plain odd or what?

  1. Nee

    No, it isn’t odd to be that concerned or touched by people you don’t “know”. How often do we see a tv show on someone and tear up? It happens.We’re all part of the human condition. Unless we’re jacked up in the brain, we care. 🙂

Leave a Reply

